Subterranean Creation

'Creation'  by Meats Meier
‘Creation’ by Meats Meier
Once I’ve birthed a poem and stopped staring 
in its eyes,
anxiety starts feeding  
on the empty space inside.

I don’t know how it got there, 
or if another ever will; I’ve no idea 
what made it grow – God knows 
it wasn’t skill.

Its herald is a rumbling 
from the caverns of the mind, 
which builds in its intensity to a seismic 
shifting of disquiet.

Faults and fissures open up, misshapen 
truth is born,
squalling and demanding to
be healed and fashioned form.

The trick is not to think of it,
don’t call its name, or stare; 
(allow it its dark silence to grow strange and unaware).

Only once it’s almost 
whole you take a sideways 
glance - shuffle some stray words 
around, find harmony in chance.

Then when every note has fallen,
exactly where it should, 
withdraw in awe and wonder 
how what’s been made you never could.
Author: Michele Seminara

Poet, critic and managing editor of Verity La creative arts journal. http://verityla.com/

43 thoughts on “Subterranean Creation”

  1. “Allow it its dark silence to grow strange and unaware”
    So true. When it’s done, ripe, ready to go, that feeling of completeness is so overwhelming. And the best poems, our minds hummed, are during sleep, there is no recall, nothing of it…

      1. Would you consider, it’s not us that does, not even as a catalyst? Some power that takes over us for that time being. Just asking. I feel used at times cause when I want writing to come, it teases me 😀

      2. Yes, I think a power comes through us, but actually I think that power is the real ‘us’, we just don’t recognise it as such because our view is limited. And our identification with the temporary ‘us’ blocks us from actualising our true power. Don’t know if that makes any sense!

        Sent from my iPad

      3. Makes sense. At least it’s comforting it ain’t someone else but the real ‘us’. Maybe it will take time to familiarize, create oneness, what they say is the awakening!

  2. “I don’t know how it got there,
    or if another ever will; I’ve no idea
    what made it grow – God knows it
    wasn’t skill.”

    Um, you have tremendous skill and talent! And please keep birthing, I’ve been thinking about you. Is Michele going to write something? I was going to send you little non-pressure note today haha. And tada, this next masterpiece. I just love, love, love your writing. Can’t wait to nominate you for some award.

    Anyway this is wonderful. And I do know how these things happen organically. 🙂 Keep exposing yourself so the miracle can grow again… 🙂

    xo

      1. Lol. 🙂 Yeah, everyday I’m thinking. Okay, maybe she needs room to find it. Then after a while I was like, she’s not going to stop writing is she (maybe I should say something…fun…encouraging). Haha. But it’s great you reappeared. We’re happy. =)

        Thanks Michele, I am. Hope you are as well! =)

  3. This is truly beautiful, love the basic conceit, the poems come from where we don’t know, sent by whom we cannot see and arrive we do not know how, then go where do not know, wonderful indeed! Thanks, Kevin

  4. I love the ‘harmony in chance’ and ‘awe and wonder’ since I experience both repeatedly in my own writings. Wonderful stuff, as per usual, Michelle.

    1. Thanks Gigi, harmony in chance is the best,isn’t it? Serendipity is a gift we can live every day, if we only just keep our eyes peeled and hearts open! I know that is what you’re doing. Take care x

  5. This is such a wonderful and accurate as well as poetic description of the act of creation, Michele. I recognised every step, as your perfect words came… and somehow this is how it is with everything that we create, even a garden…
    It’s that letting go and letting it happen, and then that glory of the enjoyment, knowing it is worth savouring the goodness of it, and feeling that warmth of creation, that is somehow something outside as well as inside, so you can admire without any egotism……is this making sense????

    1. It makes perfect sense to me Valerie! So glad you could relate to the poem, and I think you are right, the same holds true for any creation, perhaps especially for a garden!

      Sent from my iPad

  6. This is so wonderfully expressed, Michele…it reminds me of magic realism…one of my favorite genres. I wonder, would you mind if I reblogged this on Resonant Velocity?

  7. Brilliantly penned piece! With such fine eloquence you described the “secrets of the ink” and its affairs. Between the tip of the pen, “blank” of the paper, and, the space between them both, is the writer born — over and over again.

  8. A pleasure as always to meet another Michele! Tanyeno, the blogger extraordinaire told me about you. I’m looking forward to reading your words and excited to see how your creative journey unfolds. Already I can see you’re a magician with words… “faults and fissures open up, misshapen
    truth is born, squalling and demanding to be healed and fashioned form. Ahh… so brilliant. Thanks to you, my soul is soothed for the day. Does that make you a soothsayer?! Beautiful day to you. Michele

    1. Hi Michele, lovely to make your aquaintence, Tanyeno is indeed a blogger extaordinaire! Thanks so much for reading and for your kind comments, so glad you enjoyed the poem. Take care.

  9. Michele!! You capture the struggle all writers seem to confront–and so poignantly. I keep coming back to the phrase “misshapen truth”. We are all trying to form our truths into something recognizable, and once we do that, it leads us to the next unformed mass.I do have one request. I want you to be more confident in your gift as a poet. I disagree with the line “God knows it wasn’t skill.” You are a poet–and I want you to know it:)

    1. Michael, that is very sweet of you – I can hear the encouraging voice of the English teacher here, and it is just what I need. (I can also hear the voice of the little boy -‘ I’m a poet and I don’t even know it’ – and that is great also!) Perhaps I could do with a bit of that confident attitude – thank you.

  10. Hi Michele
    I am in awe at your skill as a writer/poet. Good on you! I only wish I had the courage to start writing my blog. I am crippled by fear and don’t seem to be able to make a start. Thanks for inspiring me!

  11. First time in awhile that I returned to WordPress to do some reading… the Everyday Strange and Sacred was, of course my very first stop. “The trick is not to think of it, don’t call its name, or stare;”… I love this line, somehow it contains the entire poem. Beautiful writing.

    1. Hi Chris, yes, I have missed your beautiful poems! But hopefully it has been all the lovely things in life that has kept you busy. Thanks for taking the time to have a little dip into this blog. :-). Much appreciated.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

