Adrift

Underwater Photography Exhibition by Andreas Franke

Underwater Photography Exhibition by Andreas Franke

Her mind was strong
but now it's gone
adrifting out to sea

and barnacles
and sucker fish
are living there for free.

Her thoughts, like eels, are slippery
they shimmer in the wet,
enticing her to hook their tails
with language she'll forget.

Life must feel so unnerving
without handles to hold on -
a mind that's lost its labels is
a maze you can't escape from.

Trapped in watery corridors
with no words to let you out,
identity is cast away
Her treasures sunk throughout.
39 thoughts on “Adrift

  1. Bless a poet, sitting in one corner, penning down memories of the treasures cast away, connecting the dots, some identity there. Perhaps, paying the price for others to live in the sea, free.

  2. Beautiful expression, Michele!
    Where life improvises, the slightest cracks, a hand or foot hold, offers choices in leverage, directions, to clamber amongst our world’s explorations, of something different, even when cast deep beneath, a waters changing world.

  3. Beautifully written and elegantly presented, as befits the words themselves.
    “A mind that’s lost it’s labels is a maze you cannot escape from” that is stunning in it’s impact.
    “Her thoughts, like eels, are slippery,”- sometimes in the seconds we often have, it is so difficult to grasp what we mean ourselves, let alone someone else!

    • Me too Anita! I began writing this poem as a bit of a humorous ditty about my own failing mind, but then started to explore in earnest how it must feel to really loose all your words and ‘handles’ on the world – it must be frightening.

  4. I always wait with anticipation for a new poem from you. Then something in me lifts when I see you’ve posted… and the lifted keeps on going long after I ‘ve read your newest thoughts. Lovely and inspiring writing as always Michele.

  5. The power of a good poem is its ability to allow the reader to connect to what is not being said, but implied. I am left wondering what “barnacles and sucker fish” have left this woman drowning. Such provocative imagery–which I’ve come to expect from you:)

    • Thanks Michael, your comment brings to mind one of my favourite quotes from T. S. Eliot – ‘Genuine poetry can communicate before it is understood.Β”’ I think that’s what I love the most about it. πŸ™‚

    • Hi! So glad you enjoyed the poems, and thanks so much for all your kind comments. I snuck over and read your poem – it was great! You have a natural feel for it, keep going. Lovely to meet you.:)

      • I Michele!

        Oh I loved them, you’re very talented. I’m just trying something. Dabbling, not sure I’m a poet. But I will probably write again for the pure fun of it. πŸ™‚ I so appreciate the compliment though. Lovely to meet you for certain… xo

  6. so beautiful…you are such a good poet..I used to write in my native language when I was growing up…your lines are so moving..love reading them..thanks for sharing dear πŸ™‚

  7. Michele, Wow. This certainly packs a punch, but sneakily. You entice us with the playful form and rich images, and then when we are slithering and splashing with you through the corridors we realize what you are talking about. Beautiful and vivid…and scary. Thank you, as always, for the inspiration. Xo

    • Thank you so much for your insightful feedback, Chloe. It’s so interesting to hear how a poem you have written effects the reader – sometimes you never know! Just as you said, I did want to lock the reader into the slippery path of this poem by using quite a strong rhythm, leading them towards a watery dissolution! The ending is quite dark, isn’t it ? As it is for many of us…but enough of that! Our identity from this life may pass, but not the spirit. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

