Three Haiku Published In BLUEPEPPER

Standard

haiku 1I have been trying my hand at haiku lately, hoping that perhaps it is the perfect form of poetry for a time poor mum – wrong! As Mark Twain famously said, “I didn’t have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a long one instead.” Exactly!

Haiku are slippery little suckers, quite difficult to get a grasp on. The composition of the form is bound by many rules, and yet the essence of the haiku is intangible…I suspect that’s probably the point. Like pebbles dropped into a pond, these small gems slip into the mind, sending ripples of meaning out into your being which go far beyond the few words that inspired them.

I imagine it will take me many years to fully understand haiku. And yet, after a bit of an education from fellow Australian poet Ashley Capes (whose excellent blog you can find here), I have been fortunate enough to have had three haiku published in BLUEPEPPER. BLUEPEPPER is a wonderful online poetry site edited by Australian poet Justin Lowe. The haiku I had published there were written in response to the terrible fires that occurred recently in the Blue Mountains, close to Sydney. where I live. Please click here to read them, along with many other fine poems!

31 responses »

  1. What a fun, playful post. Love the Mark Twain quote and your pebble analogy. I checked out the site and tried to leave a comment there–not sure I was successful. Haiku are like quick breaths of air that hit the lungs and remind us we are alive and we need to breathe more. Each one is different, and each is life affirming. Congrats on another published feature, Michele. Proud of you!!

    • Thanks so much Michael. I appreciate your trying to leave a comment at BLUEPEPPER – but don’t be disheartened, it’s notoriously difficult to do so!
      You’re spot on about haiku being like breaths of fresh air – they give our minds a little wake up; I love that!
      And that you say you are proud of me, well that just means everything -thank you!

  2. Congratulations again! You’re on a roll! I enjoyed those. There are so many varieties and I haven’t studied all of them, but I like yours because they really mean something to me.

    • Thanks Carl! There are a lot of variations of haiku around, aren’t there? You can get a bit caught up in the rules of the form, but in the end, as you pointed out, the poems got to make you feel something. I’m so glad these ones did, for you. Many thanks!

    • Hi Ashley, thanks, I’m really enjoying the course; there is so much to learn with Haiku, it’s a great help to have someone guide you through the various rules and techniques. I’d say that many of my ‘haikus’ are not technically haikus – but hey, I suppose that’s part of the learning process. I’m enjoying trying to get my head around it at any rate :-)

    • Thank you Valerie. I suppose that’s one of the nice things about haiku – they don’t thrive on drama like so much of poetry dose. It’s a very simple, humble and profound way of writing, and I think that’s quite good for the mind! (And for those of us whose lives are not terribly exciting, it allows us to find interesting observations everywhere.)

  3. Congratulations Michele. I love Haiku. For me every book is an article that was padded to form a book. There are just too many unnecessary words floating about. Haiku is all about expressing what needs to be expressed and nothing more. It’s just as much a philosophy of life as an art form.

  4. I find that writing a traditional 5-7-5 line haiku is not that difficult. I am not a real writer and try to write what I see they just flow out on their own. I respect the thousands of forms if poetry – each one an art in itself. I think that is where my feeling lies – art – beauty is in the eye of the beholder or the artist or writer who creates it. By the way, your haikus are lovely.

      • OMG. Did it get to people’s homes? Glad you’re okay!

        But, fires are scary. I’m not sure fire departments always have the tools especially if the fire catches onto flamable material in route. I am keeping well, hope you are. :)

        Hows the little one. :) Wait, how old is she? *Am I inaccurate by saying ‘little?’

Leave a Reply

